“Suppose one of you has a hundred sheep and loses one of them. Doesn’t he leave the ninety-nine in the open country and go after the lost sheep until he finds it? And when he finds it, he joyfully puts it on his shoulders and goes home. Then he calls his friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost sheep'. In the same way, I tell you, there is rejoicing in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.”

Well, it sure doesn’t take long once we start down the path of the world until we find ourselves meeting with the police. Within a year of starting my downward trend, I had taken up smoking cigarettes, breaking into vacant houses, disrespecting all authority, breaking into occupied houses and destroying peoples property. This is where the Sheriff finally got to meet my parents, the meet and greet was over a fence I had cut down, so that my friends and I could walk some of the back trails. When the property owner confronted us (camera in hand) we gave his the typical respect that you would expect from a 12-year-old Christian, that’s right I flipped him the bird with all my Worldly friends and didn’t think much of it. In that time frame again skipping school, we had broken into a strangers house, took a few things, well let me re-position myself, I stole some beer from their fridge, while my friends filled their pockets with what they wanted. Still, it doesn’t matter, I was participating in everything that the punk kids do, for I myself had become one. In that year (5th grade), I was kicked out of school for writing an offensive paper as a class project. Started acting like a tough guy, the bad boy who got kicked out of one school, a guy that shouldn’t be messed with. I would make fun of other kids in such demeaning ways, talk to authority like they were garbage, ignore my parents and their punishments.
The following year there were some high’s though, this year our Church had decided to do a youth led service and asked me to preach, perhaps it was because they knew I wasn’t afraid of public speaking, who knows. I wrote a sermon on judging one another, you know the one that the non-believers love “judge not less ye be judged,” it was a self-serving sermon, but an experience that calmed me down for a bit, made me respect church a little more, flip through the pages of scripture with more excitement. It was short-lived, my parents had a falling out with some friends in the church, their son ran his mouth to me, so I got in a fight with him in between Sunday School and Church, out front, with him on his back and me landing punches the best I could, my mom had to pull me off of him, me the mini-preacher!
I know, I know this isn’t unbelievable behavior for a 12-year-old, what am I saying YES IT IS!!!!! I needed much discipline and focus with God, but was falling in love with myself and the world, doing what I saw fit in my own eyes. After that school year, my dad received a job transfer to Texas….A new beginning, a new opportunity and a whole, whole lot of things to confess, we will discuss them soon.
I don’t know when is the right time to correct a child, or if parents should be left blameless when children begin acting out in the fashion I had. I was very accountable for my actions, I knew it was not right, that it was not a reflection of the light that was inside of me, but for some reason I just loved hiding away and I was only beginning.

Comments on: "Good Evening Sir, This is the Sheriff, is Michael Your Son" (1)

  1. You should share the paper you wrote. It’s pretty intuitive for a 5th grader

Leave a Reply

Mitchell Lewis

Formerly ... a Christian pastor in Caesar's army

L.A. Marzulli's Blog

Politics, Prophecy & the Supernatural

larrywtaylor

Just another WordPress.com site

Truth Herald

Voice In the Wilderness

Robin Kuppens

This is the REAL me

2ndlifeministries.wordpress.com/

“Suppose one of you has a hundred sheep and loses one of them. Doesn’t he leave the ninety-nine in the open country and go after the lost sheep until he finds it? And when he finds it, he joyfully puts it on his shoulders and goes home. Then he calls his friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost sheep'. In the same way, I tell you, there is rejoicing in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.”

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

